Procrastination

That is the name of the game this semester. I have put off everything I can put off so far this semester. That has gotten me to start thinking, why do people procrastinate? I know that eventually, I have to get all of these things done, so why put it off until I absolutely can’t put it off any longer?

I decided to go to our trusty friends at google and see what they have to say about it. According to psychology today, 20% of people are chronic procrastinators. Meaning they put off the most mundane and ordinary tasks in every facet of life on a regular basis. I would not put myself in this category. I am usually on top of things, meaning I usually do things BEFORE I need to have them done. I’m really not sure what has gotten into me lately.

It also says that procrastination is learned, due to an authoritative parent figure. Hmmm, that is very true for me. I’m 21 years old and still am required to call my mother when I get to school every single morning (her home, her rules). It also says that procrastination is a form of rebellion against those types of personalities and circumstances. I couldnt agree with that statement more! I suppose that I have been procrastinating so much lately because I am so BUSY! Between working two jobs and school, I am exhausted on and not in control of much in my life.

Hm, I definitely feel like I understand my procrastination more than I have before. Its so much easier to watch a couple of episodes of Doctor Who then to do laundry and write papers. If you would like to read the article I will post a link below.

 

Yours truly,

J.

 

Link: http://www.psychologytoday.com/articles/200308/procrastination-ten-things-know

Leave a comment